Yin Yang Jewellery

£ 3.50£ 7.50

SKU: N/A Categories: , Tags: , , ,


Yin Yang is perhaps the most known and documented concept used within Taoism.
The symbol for Yin Yang is called the Taijitu. Most people just call it the yin yang symbol in the west. The taijitu symbol can be found in more than one culture.
A starting definition: Yin / Yang: Two halves that together complete wholeness. Yin and yang are also the starting point for change. When something is whole, by definition, it’s unchanging and complete. So when you split something into two halves – yin/yang, it upsets the equilibrium of wholeness.
The word Yin comes out to mean “shady side” and Yang “sunny side”.
Yin Yang is the concept of duality forming a whole. We encounter examples of Yin and Yang every day. As examples: night (Yin) and day (Yang), female (Yin) and male (Yang).
Neither Yin nor Yang is absolute. Nothing is completely Yin or completely Yang.
Each aspect contains the beginning point for the other aspect. For example, day becomes night and then night becomes day. Yin and Yang are interdependent upon each other so that the definition of one requires the definition for the other to be complete.
The summation of Yin and Yang form a whole. One effect of this is: as one aspect increases the other decreases to maintain the overall balance of the whole.

Yin Yang illustrated from the Tao Te Ching
When people see things as beautiful,ugliness is created.
When people see things as good,evil is created.
Being and non-being produce each other.
Difficult and easy complement each other.
Long and short define each other.
High and low oppose each other.
Fore and aft follow each other.

An important Chinese symbol, the Bagua (also called Pa Kua) is an 8-sided shape that is made of 8 trigrams. It has the taiji or yin and yang symbol at the center and the eight trigrams are arranged around it to complete the octagonal figure.‘Ba’ means eight and ‘gua’ means areas or sections; collectively Bagua refers to a group of eight symbols that have specific meaning in the Chinese philosophy. The eight symbols or trigrams are each made of a combination of three lines that are either unbroken or broken. The unbroken line represents the male ‘yang’, the creative force of nature, while the broken line denotes the female ‘yin’, which is the receptive force of  nature. These trigrams are symbolic of naturally occurring processes and the inter-related basic principles of reality. Each one of these is associated with a particular family member, season, direction, personality trait, animal, etc.

Additional information

Weight N/A

1, 2, 3, 4, 5


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Yin Yang Jewellery”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *